Friday, February 21, 2020

Various Artists - U.K. Electronics Vol. 2

Cassette, C45
Label : Mindscan, UK, 1990
Ripped by Simon Dell / Provided by Mors Mea

Tracklist :

A1. Empty Heads - Jesus Freak (4:45)
A2. From Nursery To Misery - Fraud (4:07)
A3. Headmen - Wisdom Comes To Us In Dreams (5:50)
A4. Headmen - Short Time To Go (3:33)
A5. Empty Heads - TV Orphan (3:59)
B1. Another Headache - The Cacophony Continues (5:13)
B2. Headmen - Rave Forest (4:08)
B3. Amoeba - Are Friends Electric? (4:49)
B4. Another Headache - Factory Floor (6:42)
B5. Random - Journey Through An Oesophagus (2:32)

Friday, February 14, 2020

Mental Anguish - Distant Warnings

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#143], Ivory Coast, 2020

Chris Pinney's archives still contain some fine unreleased music : here is another album by Mental Anguish, recorded in 2004 at Harsh Reality Music studio.

That release is the occasion to inform you that Chris needs help :

Tracklist :

1. Distant Warnings (6:23)
2. The Luxury of Slough and Spasm (5:27)
3. A Trip to the Park (3:47)
4. Sleep Deprivation (3:51)
5. Lengua and Barbacoa (4:17)
6. Sun Spot Menace (15:03)
7. Eye of Newt with a Pinch of Nightshade (6:19)
8. Passing Thru the Cosmic Space Fog (6:37)
9. Conditioned Stimulus (5:15)
10. Tophat Decides to Run For Political Office (9:31)
11. Never Look a Gifthorse in the Mouth (4:39)

Friday, February 7, 2020

æƒv - Drowned Mermaids

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#142], Ivory Coast, 2020

In March 2017, the night Anne Gillis was performing live at Sonic Protest, Éliane Blaise (æƒv) was introduced to me by Jac Berrocal who said that he loved her art. Éliane and I had been in touch the year before as she submitted a track for the "Rien Ni Personne" compilation. It was very close to silence and after discussion, she decided to mix it at a higher level. When I finally met her at Sonic Protest, she proposed to make me listen more of her soundwork, which I gladly accepted. We kept in touch, talked about a release on Nostalgie De La Boue, but it took a long time before she finally sent me the tracks of that debut album. Since her "Rien Ni Personne" contribution, her style has evolved in a more assertive way, she is now using a cello and electronics, recorded at a quite audible level, but is still working with details and subtleties. Long time in the making but well worth waiting for, "Drowned Mermaids" is the first æƒv (Éliane Blaise) full length release.

Tracklist :

1. Shyness (3:34)
2. Drowned Mermaids (18:27)
3. Her Dark Light (5:59)
4. Belong (11:22)
5. Endless (8:13)

Friday, January 31, 2020

Aumugu - Electronic Manipulation Of The Shadow

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#141], Ivory Coast, 2020

" Aumugu a quitté les profondeurs des abysses et les forêts obscures pour les vallées verdoyantes où la froidure ne tardera pas à se déposer. Cet opus bruisse au rythme des rafales du vent d'automne. Les plaines sans fin. Le ciel si changeant, haut dans l'hémisphère nord. Les oiseaux de proie volent au dessus de nos têtes passant de droite à gauche jusqu'à s'abattre sur celui qui n'a pris garde. Il nous faut ici et là prendre repos pour affronter les temps à venir. Partout une nature puissante et minérale qui n'exclue pas le vivant ; il évolue et s'adapte aux futures rigueurs. Les organismes se renforcent à l'automne pour passer l'hiver. " - Nicolas Linel

Tracklist :

1. Black Wave Modulations (10:00)
2. Bright Dark (5:20)
3. Oscillation MT (6:56)
4. Ghost Attribute (8:10)
5. Distortion Of Light (8:52)
6. White Wave Modulations (10:10)

Friday, January 24, 2020

The Mediators - The French Collection

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#140], Ivory Coast, 2020

First release by a trio that includes ex-:zoviet*france: and Ingleton Falls member Andy Eardley.

" The Mediators will take you on a rough and ready journey experimenting with pure electronic sound. We always improvise and explore. We're typically in sync (but not always). We call it 'Electronic Folk' " - Steve Brown / Andy Eardley / Oran Milstein

Tracklist :

1. Threshold (4:24)
2. Misty Shed (3:58)
3. Jungian Trio (4:20)
4. Monotreme (6:13)
5. Gecko (2:56)
6. Further East (3:52)
7. 5th Season (2:40)
8. Septagon (3:29)
9. Senor Pink 58 (4:21)

Friday, January 17, 2020

La Regione Centrale - Prima Emissione

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#139], Ivory Coast, 2020

La Regione Centrale is a solo side project of Fulvio Biondo, cofounder of the group Solar Lodge.
"Prima Emissione" was composed, assembled and recorded between 2017 and 2019 in Rome.

Tracklist :

1. Prima Regione (7:40)
2. Seconda Regione (6:34)
3. Terza Regione (5:28)
4. Quarta Regione (6:09)

Friday, January 10, 2020

Violence And The Sacred - The Drunken Hours Of Taciturn Dejection

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#138], Ivory Coast, 2020

Very active in the eighties/early nineties, Violence And The Sacred then became silent and reappeared in the late 2000s with both new material and archival releases. "The Drunken Hours Of Taciturn Dejection" was recorded in 1987-88 but was previously unreleased.

Tracklist :

1. Of Course (3:32)
2. Between Throat And Chin (4:27)
3. The Drunken Hours Of Taciturn Dejection (3:46)
4. The Pit (3:30)
5. Oatmeal (3:15)
6. Drifter (3:01)
7. One More Minute (4:23)
8. But Why? (3:37)
9. Railroad Men (4:04)
10. Please Don't Eat Those (8:02)

Friday, January 3, 2020

C Green & Abner Malaty - February

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#137], Ivory Coast, 2020

The new year starts well : here is the first Abner Malaty release in 25 years (this time in collaboration with Chet Green) !

Tracklist :

1. Strands Of Entanglement (1:10:44)