Saturday, February 29, 2020

Various Artists - UK Electronics Vol. 4

Cassette, C60
Label : Mindscan, UK, 1991
Ripped by Simon Dell / Provided by Mors Mea

Tracklist :

A1. Another Headache - The Infinite Soul (13:04)
A2. Youth Is Violence - United (4:19)
A3. Youth Is Violence - Opinion (4:22)
B1. Zero Population Growth - Ineffective (3:26)
B2. Zero Population Growth - Sickness (1:55)
B3. Some Stumpy Goats - Maggots In My Head (2:12)
B4. Some Stumpy Goats - Getting The Most Out Of Your Detergent (2:46)
B5. Youth Is Violence - Codex (4:25)
B6. Another Headache - Modern Primitive (5:29)

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Various Artists - U.K Electronics Vol. 3

Cassette, C60
Label : Mindscan, UK, 1990
Ripped by Simon Dell / Provided by Mors Mea

Tracklist :

A1. Satori Sound System - Mali Rain (7:08)
A2. Dreamcore - Desire (4:01)
A3. Dreamcore - Deep In U (5:40)
A4. factor X - I Love You (8:07)
A5. Cock - Cheeky (3:02)
B1. Expose Your Eye - Superstringhead (4:21)
B2. Negative Impact - Death T.V. (3:30)
B3. Negative Impact - Surface Tension (Mix 2) (4:41)
B4. Captain Black And The Chemical Children - Techno Sweat (Mellow Mix?) (7:24)
B5. Pearsongs Inc - Song For Robin (Version 2) (3:20)
B6. Cock - Raddish (5:32)

Friday, February 21, 2020

Various Artists - U.K. Electronics Vol.2

Cassette, C46
Label : Mindscan, UK, 1990
Ripped by Simon Dell / Provided by Mors Mea

Tracklist :

A1. Empty Heads - Jesus Freak (4:45)
A2. From Nursery To Misery - Fraud (4:07)
A3. Headmen - Wisdom Comes To Us In Dreams (5:50)
A4. Headmen - Short Time To Go (3:33)
A5. Empty Heads - TV Orphan (3:59)
B1. Another Headache - The Cacophony Continues (5:13)
B2. Headmen - Rave Forest (4:08)
B3. Amoeba - Are Friends Electric? (4:49)
B4. Another Headache - Factory Floor (6:42)
B5. Random - Journey Through An Oesophagus (2:32)

Friday, February 14, 2020

Mental Anguish - Distant Warnings

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#143], Ivory Coast, 2020

Chris Pinney's archives still contain some fine unreleased music : here is another album by Mental Anguish, recorded in 2004 at Harsh Reality Music studio.

That release is the occasion to inform you that Chris needs help :

Tracklist :

1. Distant Warnings (6:23)
2. The Luxury of Slough and Spasm (5:27)
3. A Trip to the Park (3:47)
4. Sleep Deprivation (3:51)
5. Lengua and Barbacoa (4:17)
6. Sun Spot Menace (15:03)
7. Eye of Newt with a Pinch of Nightshade (6:19)
8. Passing Thru the Cosmic Space Fog (6:37)
9. Conditioned Stimulus (5:15)
10. Tophat Decides to Run For Political Office (9:31)
11. Never Look a Gifthorse in the Mouth (4:39)

Friday, February 7, 2020

æƒv - Drowned Mermaids

Label : Nostalgie De La Boue [ndlb#142], Ivory Coast, 2020

In March 2017, the night Anne Gillis was performing live at Sonic Protest, Éliane Blaise (æƒv) was introduced to me by Jac Berrocal who said that he loved her art. Éliane and I had been in touch the year before as she submitted a track for the "Rien Ni Personne" compilation. It was very close to silence and after discussion, she decided to mix it at a higher level. When I finally met her at Sonic Protest, she proposed to make me listen more of her soundwork, which I gladly accepted. We kept in touch, talked about a release on Nostalgie De La Boue, but it took a long time before she finally sent me the tracks of that debut album. Since her "Rien Ni Personne" contribution, her style has evolved in a more assertive way, she is now using a cello and electronics, recorded at a quite audible level, but is still working with details and subtleties. Long time in the making but well worth waiting for, "Drowned Mermaids" is the first æƒv (Éliane Blaise) full length release.

Tracklist :

1. Shyness (3:34)
2. Drowned Mermaids (18:27)
3. Her Dark Light (5:59)
4. Belong (11:22)
5. Endless (8:13)